North Dakota Contractor License

North Dakota Contractor License

Want to know every little detail of the process of obtaining your contractor’s license in North Dakota? You are in the right place as in this article we will talk about major topics such as: how to check the validity of the contractor through license lookup, the main procedures of earning your contractor’s license, state-issued requirements, and more.

How do I become a licensed contractor in North Dakota?

Holding a contractor’s license in North Dakota will give your business credibility and trust. Clients are more prone to reach businesses or individuals who hold a license. So, if you are determined of becoming an authorized contractor in North Dakota, apply for your license through the online application system. Here, we have outlined the main documents you should possess to become licensed:

  • Register your business entity with the North Dakota Secretary of State
  • Complete the application form
  • Indicate certificate of liability insurance
  • Obtain worker’s compensation insurance
  • Register for income tax withholding if you have employees
  • Pay the processing fee

North Dakota Secretary of State issues 4 types of contractor’s licenses depending on the project’s value. The classes are A, B, C, D. Class A has no limitations of the project’s value while other classes must meet the criteria.

At the current moment, North Dakota doesn’t require additional fees to obtain a contractor’s license except for the application fee.

Do you need a contractor’s license in North Dakota?

Whether you’re a handyman, general contractor, or subcontractor you need to obtain a license if your project exceeds $4,000. Secretary of State defines a contractor as any individual engaged in the business of construction, repair, alteration, demolition of constructions, and similar services.

The requirements and the process of obtaining specialty contractor’s licenses in North Dakota are different from general contractor’s licensure. There are 3 types of licenses offered to contractors in the scope of their specialty:

  • Electrical contractor’s license
  • Plumbing contractor’s license
  • Water Well contractor’s license

To obtain a license, every specialty contractor should pass the examinations according to their area of work. To be eligible for a contractor’s specialty license you must pass 70% grade.

What is the easiest contractor’s license to get?

The easiest contractor’s license to get is either a residential or a general license that usually doesn’t require too much paperwork and examination. Since the rules and regulations of obtaining a contractor’s license differ from state to state, better check with your local governance to learn more.

What is the difference between a general contractor and a licensed contractor?

General contractors or handymen can work on small construction services while individuals or businesses holding a license will likely carry out bigger projects. Additionally, all contractors working on specialties like electrical, plumbing, HVAC, carpentry, roofing should be licensed. Even if the state doesn’t require a license to perform general contracting works, remember that licensing gives credibility, trust and protects clients or employers from harmful damages or unpaid works.

To see if the contractor or the business is licensed in North Dakota, utilize ND Business Records Search by entering a license number, name, and city/county.

Mary H

Mary H

Being a skilled creative writer and SEO content writer, with 2+ years of experience I can't imagine any other profession to fulfill my life as much as writing does. As a proud member of geek culture, I enjoy reading, writing, watching Sci-Fi gems, while also advocating the involvement of young, bright-minded girls and women in STEM research. Latter was largely the result of working at UNESCO Chair, Life Sciences International Postgraduate Educational Center as an editor of scientific journals.